Online Gaming

Published on January 8th, 2014 | by Joanna Connell

0

Tagged

A social discovery website that lets users connect with other people, making new friends and playing games together.  There are nearly 300 million registered users on Tagged who can browse each other profiles, give each other virtual gifts and share tags.

Registering an account

You join Tagged by linking it to other web services you use and importing your personal details directly from them.  You can sign in with your Facebook or Google account and invite your existing friends to the online community.  Otherwise, you can create a new account by entering your email address and choosing a password on the sign-up form in the home page.  A password must contain at least six characters to be valid.

Security features on Tagged

Tagged has been criticised by users for its lack of safety features and the fact that it sends frequent unsolicited messages.  Users have access to some basic security features, which include setting your privacy controls and controlling third party app integration.

Managing your security settings

To modify the security settings on your Tagged account, click on the settings icon to access your accounts settings.  On this page you have options to change your email address, your password and also control privacy settings like blocking other users or restricting the visibility of your profile.

Personal data usage

Tagged records the personal data its users enter while creating an account and when filling in their online profiles.  If you connect other online services to your Tagged account, your data may be accessible by both services.  When logging on via mobile, Tagged will collect data related to your location.  Tagged uses your personal data to show you adverts and promotional material from partners that you may be interested in.

Deleting your account

To delete your Tagged account, sign in to your account and navigate to the Account Deletion page.  If choose to delete your account permanently, you will have to re-enter your password to confirm your decision.  It is suggested that publicly shared content is manually deleted before closing down an account.

Security record

Although Tagged has come under fire in the past by users complaining that it was sending unsolicited messages to their contacts, there haven’t been any major reports of hacking attempts on users’ profiles.

Third parties on Tagged

Tagged lets users sign in with other popular online social networks to their profiles and integrate other apps or web applications to add functionality to the service.  The information shared with these third party apps is governed by their privacy policy and it is recommended that users review these statements before deciding to trust third parties.

Tracking your shared information

Although you can control the privacy settings to change the visibility of your profile, Tagged doesn’t give its users the option to track down how personal information is being shared.

 

 

 


About the Author



Back to Top ↑