Photos

Published on February 18th, 2013 | by adminbill

0

Pinterest

A photo-sharing website that uses a pin-board format to let you share images about your hobbies, interests and events with over 70 million users worldwide.

Showing Interest?

To sign up for a Pinterest account you can either use your existing Facebook credentials and set a separate password later, or else use your email address and create a password there and then.  Pinterest’s password policy is very simple: six characters is all it takes to get in, although Pinterest scans for common names or sequential passwords like ‘123456’ and rejects them.

Pinning Down Security

Unfortunately, at present Pinterest does not give users any options to enable https browsing or to add secure account access via two-factor authentication.

Through the Settings page, Pinterests lets users connect their Twitter and Facebook account and use them to log in to the service.  However Pinterests recommends its users to set up a separate password for their account.

Finding Your Security Settings

Security settings on Pinterest are very scarce.  You can edit your password and change privacy settings like search engine visibility, but there’s little else available.

You can access the security settings from the Settings page on Pinterest by clicking on your username at the top-right corner of the screen and selecting ‘Settings’ from the drop-down menu.

Who’s Looking At Your Data?

Pinterest uses the information it collects from users to provide and improve its products, and develop new one.  Your personal data and activity can be shared outwith Pinterest if you chose to consent to linking up with other services such as Facebook and Twitter.  Moreover, Pinterest may employ third party companies or individuals to process personal information on its behalf based on its instructions and in full compliance with its Privacy Policy.

Putting A Pin In It

Pinterest doesn’t let its users delete their account, rather it allows ‘deactivation’ of the account meaning that your username and email address cannot be used again to set up a new account.

To deactivate your Pinterest account, click your name at the top of Pinterest then click ‘Settings’ from the drop-down list.  Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on ‘Deactivate Account’.  You’ll need to confirm that you want to deactivate your account, and once this is done, your profile and boards won’t be available on Pinterest.  Any Facebook and Twitter accounts you had connected to previously will be unlinked.

Hacking Attempts on Pinterest

There have been sporadic reports on the media of Pinterests being targeted by hackers and accounts being used for spamming other users.  The company has responded on every occasion by asking users to reset their passwords and pick stronger and more unique ones.

Third Party Apps On Board

Pinterest opened  its doors to third party applications only very recently in October 2013.  Developers of third party applications or web services that connect with your Pinterest account will have their own version of the privacy policy, and users are encouraged to review them and make sure they are in accordance with it before trusting third parties.

Tracking Your Information

Owing to Pinterest’s current lack of safety features, there are presently no tools that users can use to track down how secure their information really is.  On the Settings page, you can edit some privacy controls that affect who sees your account and the pins or boards associated with it, but that’s how far you can control your information’s visibility.


About the Author



Back to Top ↑