Photos

Published on January 8th, 2014 | by Joanna Connell

0

Photobucket

A website that hosts over 100 billion user images and videos on its servers.  The content uploaded on your account can then be shared with your friends or put on display for everyone to admire.  The service counts over a 10 million registered members that are currently using Photobucket’s free 2GB basic plan or one of its premium paid packages.

Sign up for an account

There are two ways to sign up for a Photobucket account.  You can use either your existing Facebook account to import all your profile information to this photo-sharing service, or you can register the traditional way by using your email and choosing a password.

The password policy on Photobucket isn’t very strict.  You need to pick a password that is at least six characters longs and, although it isn’t mandatory, the website suggests that you use a combination of letters and numbers in your password to make it stronger and more difficult to guess.

Your safety in focus

Unfortunately, Photobucket doesn’t offer a lot of safety features for its users.  Free users, especially, have to make do with a strong password choice that protects their account data and good online habits to prevent any unwanted access to their accounts.  All users get the standard privacy settings to allow them to control with whom they share their photos and they can also restrict the visibility of their profiles to others.

Changing your security settings

Photobucket’s security settings are limited mainly to the privacy controls on your pictures and being able to edit your password.

To access your account settings page and change your password, click on your username at the top-right of any page and then select ‘User settings’.  In the Personal Information page that loads, click on ‘Change Password’ under the password field.  You will need to enter your current password and type the new password twice to confirm the change.  Click on ‘Save’ to store any changes you make.

You can also configure your privacy settings on the User settings page by going to the Account settings section and setting the visibility of your profile information to public or private.  For more advanced options, click on the Privacy tab to manage the privacy settings for albums and other content you publish on your account.

Keeping your information safe

The personal data that is collected from your registration and activity on the account is used by Photobucket to provide you with its services, connect you with other users you may know or be interested in or display targeted advertisements.  Photobucket does not rent, sell, or share personal information about you with other people or non-affiliated companies, but it may disclose some of the information it collects to third party companies that help it with providing its services.

Easy come, easy go

Deleting your Photobucket account is very easy and can be done by logging in, then clicking on Account status and finally clicking on the link that says ‘Delete my account’.

Safety report

There have been no major reports of users having their Photobucket accounts hacked or the services falling victim to other internet threats.

Third party apps

Photobucket provides users with the possibility to install applications developed by other users like them to enhance their experience with this service.  Photobucket does not review the safety of these apps, although it provides some community guidelines, and entrusts the users to read carefully the user agreement before using third party applications and report anything suspicious.

Tracking down your data

There are no specific tools available to help users of Photobucket track the security of their information.  Instead, Photobucket provides you with a variety of privacy controls to restrict the people who can access your account, interact with you and view the content you upload on your account.


About the Author



Back to Top ↑