Social Networks

Published on January 8th, 2014 | by Joanna Connell

0

MyLife

A social network that brings together the personal and professional connections of its members, as well as their social and email communications in one place.  Members can search over 700 million member profiles to find the people who are important in their life and the service has over 60 million users.

Joining MyLife

To register for an account on the MyLife network, you can simply use your existing Facebook information to fill in your profile quickly and find friends who already use the service.  Otherwise you can sign up for a new account by entering your first and last names, gender, date of birth, email address and password.  MyLife allows only passwords that are at least six characters long.  You can use a mixture of letters, numbers and other symbols to make your password more secure.

Staying safe

MyLife doesn’t offer members a lot of security features.  You have access to the most basic options, such as changing your password and controlling the privacy settings of what you post online.  Your MyLife profile page will always be visible to everyone, however you can limit which posts can be seen by your friends only and which can be viewed by everyone else.

Managing your account settings

You can edit your account password by logging into your MyLife account and clicking on your first name at the top-right corner of the page and choosing ‘My Account’ from the dropdown list. Click on ‘Edit my profile’ and go to the password field to edit your password.  Finally, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on ‘Save’ to confirm the changes.

Personal data collection

MyLife collects personal data when you register for a new account and whenever you volunteer other information while using the service.  This information is used to provide you with service, to personalise your experience on the website and to contact you about product or service offers and other messages.  Your personal details will never be sold to third parties or used for commercial purposes without your consent.

Deleting your account

To delete your MyLife account, log in to your account and then access the direct removal link. All your information will then be permanently deleted.

Safety record

MyLife audience is very limited and the social network is therefore a relatively small one compared to more popular services.  The website has never been targeted by hackers, nor have there been reports of security breaches in the past.

Connecting third parties

MyLife allows you to log in to their website using your Facebook credentials.  When you connect your account to Facebook some personal information is shared between the services.  You can share memories and other posts using Facebook, Twitter and Google Plus.

Keeping track of your information

Unfortunately, MyLife doesn’t give members the option to easily track where and how the information they share on the service is being used.


About the Author



Back to Top ↑