Online File Storage

Published on January 5th, 2014 | by adminbill

0

JustCloud

A simple and secure service that lets you store all your files in the cloud. JustCloud works silently in the background, saving your files automatically in the cloud while you are working on your computer. It then lets you access them from any device you use with your online login details. You can also easily share files with friends and sync your information between all your devices.

Registering an account

When signing up for a free account, you will have to input your name, email and choose a password. However there is no indication of the type of password that is allowed by the system. For a password to be valid it has to have at least six characters in it and it is recommended that you use a combination of letters, numbers and other symbols to make the password stronger.

Security features on JustCloud

JustCloud claims to take the safety and security of its users’ files very seriously. All the data you upload and download is encrypted using a 256-bit secure SSL connection to prevent anyone from snooping in on your information. The data that is stored on the cloud is hosted in high-security data centres and multiple copies of backups are stored in different locations for redundancy, thus ensuring that your information is always available.

Configuring your security settings

The number of security settings you can configure on JustCloud is very limited since most of the features are in-built to the service. On your online account control panel, you can edit your password and other details by clicking on the Account tab. You can also adjust the privacy settings of your files by clicking on the Sharing tab.

Personal data usage

JustCloud collects your personal data at various instances during your use of the service. Personal information is collected when you sign up for a free account and if you decide to upgrade to the paid service. Users can also volunteer additional personal data in communications sent by JustCloud, which will be recorded by the company. This data is never sold or shared to third parties without your consent and it is mainly used to help JustCloud provide its services and enhance your experience while using their service.

Closing your account

To delete your JustCloud account you need to log in to your account and click on the Account tab. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the delete account link under the ‘Account Summary’ section. You will need to confirm this decision several times before your account is finally deleted.

Security record

JustCloud online storage service has not been the target of any malicious internet activity, nor have there been reports by users of their accounts being hacked into.

Connecting third parties to JustCloud

For security reasons, JustCloud does not give its users the option to connect to third party applications or web services to their accounts.

Tracking your shared information

Although you can control the privacy settings to change the visibility of the files stored online, JustCloud does not give its users the option to track down how personal information shared with this service is being used.


About the Author



Back to Top ↑