Social Networks

Published on November 26th, 2013 | by adminbill

0

Facebook

The world’s largest online social networking service with over a billion users connected to its servers.

Putting A Face On It

Facebook’s password policy is pretty straightforward, although when signing up it doesn’t give new users any indication whatsoever of the restrictions that are in place. It can get frustrating when the password you’re inputting keeps getting rejected.

Facebook accepts passwords that are at least 6 characters long and there seems to be no upper limit. Numbers, symbols and different letter cases are all accepted as long as the chosen password isn’t blacklisted by the system. In fact, Facebook has a blacklist system whereby it automatically rejects common names, surnames, places and words it deems to be easy to guess.

Keeping It Safe

Facebook supports secure browsing (https), but this security features needs to be turned on by the user to take effect. To switch on secure browsing, click on the gear icon at the top-right of the screen and select Account Settings from the menu. On the Accounts Settings page, click on Security and then click on the ‘Secure browsing’ section. Check the box provided and save your settings to start browsing Facebook more securely.

Another important security feature that Facebook provides its users is a login notification that alerts the user via email or text message whenever his or her account has been accessed. This can also be enabled from the ‘Security’ section of the Account Settings page.

Facebook offers a type of two-factor authentication procedure through something it calls ‘Login Approvals’.  Login approvals is a Two Factor Authentication system that requires you to enter a code that is sent to your mobile phone via text message whenever you log into Facebook from a new or unrecognized computer. Once you have entered this security code, you’ll have the option to save the device to your account so that you don’t see this challenge on future logins. You can enable ‘Login Approvals’ from the ‘Security’ section of the Account Settings page.

Your Security On Facebook

The security settings on Facebook can all be  accessed easily from the Account Settings page. After logging into your account, go to the account settings page and click on the ‘Security’ section to find a list of options related to your account’s safety.  Among the things you can configure are: secure browsing, login notification, login approvals (two-factor authentication) and app passwords. You can also review a list of trusted contacts (who can help out in case you lose access to your account), app passwords as well as a list of recognised devices that have access to your data and all open sessions.

Privacy Prerogatives

Facebook collects a variety of personal data from your account both during the registration process as well as during your day-to-day use of the service. Facebook uses the information it collects to administer the services it provides to you and other users like your friends, our partners, the advertisers that purchase ads on the site, and the developers that build the games, applications and websites you use. While Facebook makes extensive use of the data you give it, they stress that you always own all of your information and that this information will not be shared without your permission.

Face Off

If you want to stop using your Facebook account, you can either deactivate or delete it.

Deactivating your account puts your account on hold. Other users will no longer see your timeline, but Facebook do not delete any of your information. You will have the opportunity to reactivate your account in the future and pick up where you left off. You can deactivate your account on your account settings page.

If you choose to delete an account, it is permanently deleted from Facebook and you cannot reactivate it again. It typically takes about one month to delete an account, but some information may remain in backup copies and logs for up to 90 days. To delete a Facebook account click on this link.

You have to be aware that some of the things you do on Facebook are not stored in your account, like posting to a group or sending someone a message, and this data may remain there after you delete your account.

Facing The Music

Unfortunately, Facebook is notorious for the hacking attempts that have been made on users’ accounts and there have been several reports of attacks that have been made. This has pushed Facebook to improve its service security considerably over the years and the company is known to respond quickly to any threats to its users’ data integrity.

Befriending Apps

Facebook integrates with countless other websites, third party applications and games. You can manage the list of connected apps through your account settings page by clicking on the ‘Apps’ section. On this page you can easily change the privacy settings of your apps or revoke their access to your Facebook account and remove them completely. Facebook helpfully provides links to these apps privacy policy and recommends that users read this to make an informed decision about whether to trust third party apps or not.

Tracking The Safety Of Your Information

Facebook provides you with some basic tools to track the security of your information. These tools can be accessed through the Account Settings page and include such functions as: the ability to review your timeline’s privacy settings and friends’ tags, a list of open sessions with time of access and location, and various other privacy settings to protect your posts or restrict the searchability of your profile.


About the Author



Back to Top ↑