Social Networks

Published on February 1st, 2013 | by Mark

0

delicious

A social bookmarking tool that allows you to save interesting links and share them with your friends.  You can also use Delicious to explore the bookmarks your friends are saving and find out other interesting pages in the user-curated bookmark database.

Password policy

You can join Delicious by signing up using your existing Google, Facebook or Twitter accounts and linking both accounts together.  Alternatively, you can create a new account using your email address.  In both cases, you will have to choose a username and password.  The password policy on Delicious requires you to pick a password that is at least 8 characters long and that does not include spaces.

Security features on Delicious

Delicious does not have any particular security feature except your account password.  It is therefore very important that you choose a secure password to keep the data on your account safe.

Managing your security settings

On your Delicious account, you can change your password by clicking on the Settings link on the left-hand side menu, and then clicking on Password.  If you want to manage the social accounts connected to Delicious, click on Settings and then on Social; currently you can connect or disconnect Google, Facebook and Twitter to your account.

Personal data collection

Delicious collects your personal information when you sign up for an account and uses this data to provide you with the service and to administer inquiries.  Your personal information will also be used to send you newsletters, marketing and promotional material that may be of interest to you.  You can unsubscribe at any time from these communications.  Delicious will never give out your personal details to third parties for commercial reasons.

Deleting your account

Delicious gives users the opportunity to deactivate their account by clicking on Settings, then clicking on Account and finally clicking on the ‘Deactivate account’ link. Doing so will not remove the users’ data, it will simply make the account inaccessible until the user decides to activate it again.  If you wish to remove your account permanently, contact the support team at account_support@avos.com with a request to have your personal information deleted from their database.

Delicious’ safety record online

There have been no reports of users on Delicious being targeted by hackers or that the service has been compromised by other internet threats in the past.

Connecting social networks on Delicious

Users can link their accounts with Facebook, Google Plus and Twitter and share their personal information and the bookmarks they save through these websites. Information is shared between Delicious and the services you connect with it.  It is recommended that users check their privacy settings on the accounts they connect and review the privacy policies of the other services they use.

Tracking the information you share

Unfortunately, Delicious does not provide its users with tools that let them track down how their personal information is being used by the company.


About the Author



Back to Top ↑